Article 5 by Kristen Simmons

10677277Article 5 by Kristen Simmons
Publisher Tor Teen
Length362 pages
Genera: Science Fiction
Subjects: Romance, Dystopia
How I obtained the bookLibrary, hardcover

Rating: 

New York, Los Angeles, and Washington, D.C., have been abandoned. The Bill of Rights has been revoked, and replaced with the Moral Statutes.There are no more police—instead, there are soldiers. There are no more fines for bad behavior—instead, there are arrests, trials, and maybe worse. People who get arrested usually don’t come back.

Seventeen-year-old Ember Miller is old enough to remember that things weren’t always this way. Living with her rebellious single mother, it’s hard for her to forget that people weren’t always arrested for reading the wrong books or staying out after dark. It’s hard to forget that life in the United States used to be different.

Ember has perfected the art of keeping a low profile. She knows how to get the things she needs, like food stamps and hand-me-down clothes, and how to pass the random home inspections by the military. Her life is as close to peaceful as circumstances allow.

That is, until her mother is arrested for noncompliance with Article 5 of the Moral Statutes. And one of the arresting officers is none other than Chase Jennings—the only boy Ember has ever loved.

YA Dystopians are not made for me – yet for some strange reason, I still read them. They account for a very high percentage of what I read, actually. I don’t hate most of them, or the genre, but I can’t help but see how I hardly ever truly like them.

While I did, to an extent, enjoy the mindless read that is Article 5, I didn’t really like it. It was clunky, stupid, and just not a very polished book. The characters were all absolute idiots who obviously did not know one thing about survival. I’m fairly certain I could do a better job of surviving than the main characters. Ember at one point got mad at Chase for attacking some people who planned on doing some awful things to her. Apparently, she would rather die/get raped/get hurt than have Chase kill a couple of thugs.

Article 5 is a romance-centered novel, and it definitely shows. Much of the book is spent talking about Chase and Ember’s relationship. It was sweet at times but other times it was just really, really cheesy. At one point, the phrase, ‘you are my home’ is actually used.

I can’t say I was disappointed with the book, as it was clear it was very much of an easy, no brainer read. Now, that’s not a bad thing. There are a lot of really good book like this. Think the book version of Fast and Furious or something – fast, easy, and fun.

Article 5 is a good Fast and Furious book.

My biggest problem with the book is something that I’ve encountered in numerous places. It’s not a problem that is just in this book, but more of a genre related problem that I found especially bad in this book.

And that problem was the fact that no one knew 1 thing about survival – especially Ember. Empathy is nice, and often important in books, but there’s a time and a place for empathy. It’s often incredibly annoying to see characters be overly empathetic in order to appeal to the readers.

So, overall, Article 5 is a decent book. It’s not amazing, it’s not horrible. It does its job well – entertaining the reader – and I really don’t have anything else to say about it. I recommend it to someone looking for a really easy, good read.

Leave a Reply

